Celebrating a Silver Anniversary

A few days ago I observed the 25th anniversary of Barks Communications. This seems as good a time as any to take a step back and assess where to go from here.

Thank Yous Galore

First, a look in the rearview mirror by offering my thanks to and respect for fellow communications training consultants with whom I’ve had the great pleasure of collaborating over the years. These smart and caring folks include Vickee Jordan Adams, Tom Barritt, Jeff Bloch, Tim Cage, Jim Cameron, Karen Friedman, Colleen Growe, Cindy Hoffman, Karen Lam, Jocelin Martinez, Robin Snyder, and Mary Tavon. As always with such lists, there is the risk of omitting someone. My regrets if that someone is you.

Treasured clients also merit a huge thank you, especially those whose relationships date back a decade or more. I am humbled by your kind words, your longstanding support, and your appreciation of the projects on which we have successfully collaborated. You are, after all, the reason Barks Communications has persevered for a quarter century.

Radio broadcasting got in my blood early in my career. I was fortunate enough to spend a decade in the field. Thankfully so since those were some of most enjoyable days I’ve had professionally. Radio mentors like Jim Cameron, Mike Shalett, and Roger Stauss helped shape my eventual career in communications. A warm round of applause for them.

Where from Here?

I impress upon my clients the importance of planning next steps, so had best heed that advice. My focus from here on out will center primarily on writing and, for the time being, podcasting, though that may sunset over the course of the next year. I’m still assessing matters, so have yet to determine whether podcasting is a long-term proposition. I consider myself fortunate for I’m in a position now where I can keep all options open and not obsess over metrics or live and die by bottom line results. In short, I can do what I like and to heck with the rest.

25 silver anniversaryI’ll express my thoughts in writing and via audio because there are ideas and opinions I want to get out to communications and government relations experts — information I think will benefit their bottom line results and help them achieve business and public policy goals. My hope is that readers and listeners will continue to find such thoughts useful and stimulating and that they will spur civil and enlightening dialogues.

Book Number 5?

What of authorship? Might there be more to come beyond the four books already published? Here again I have the luxury of time to decide. I’m planning to take the autumn months to cogitate on this one. It’s a big decision, after all, that necessitates a fair amount of work, though I do find the process agreeable. There are two draft manuscripts on the shelves calling my name. I may opt to dust off one or both, so anything is possible.

How will this change affect the C-suite Blueprint blog? Initially, not at all. Weekly posts will continue, though here again I reserve the right to ponder matters over the fall season and make changes at a later date if desired.

The big question, at least for me: What changes are in store for Barks Communications after 25 years in the communications strategy and training business? The consultancy isn’t going anywhere, though I do plan to ease up on the gas pedal somewhat. I’ll still dedicate energy to clients I enjoy working with and to projects I find appealing. But marketing and sales with regard to new business will take a back seat. I must say, that will be a major relief. I well recall a colleague who, years ago, closed her agency in favor of a 9-to-5 job. Her biggest takeaway was the weight lifted from her shoulders when she no longer needed to work on business development. Some people thrive on that, and good for them. I much prefer substance over sales.

On a Personal Note

I’m healthy (knock wood) and remain active, regularly working out with weights, which has been a decades-long commitment (in fact, I just ordered some new and heavier plates for my dumbbells). I’ve also added wind sprints to the mix of late (at my age, I consider that no small accomplishment). Indeed, I expect to devote more time to physical activity that I enjoy and will benefit from (for those of you who are Tower of Power fans, the strains of “You’re Still a Young Man” might resonate).

One of the biggest challenges will be a mindset adjustment. As you can see from the above, there will be a reorientation of priorities. Devoting more time to writing and physical well-being, for instance, will take time away from day-to-day chores. I’m fine with that, but expect I will need to remind myself of the shift now and again. Discipline, Ed, discipline.

One area where I will gladly spend less time is on digital media. I’ll stick primarily with LinkedIn where the exchanges tend to be more respectful and professional. I hope you will follow me there and weigh in with a comment every so often.

So, friends, here’s the upshot. I am not disappearing from the face of the earth — or from the communications profession — so I urge you to keep me in your thoughts.

Reach out by phone (preferred since it involves an actual conversation) at (703) 533-0403 or email.

Stay safe and stay in touch.

And keep watching this space for future developments.


The resources that sharpen your communications edge. Get them here.